Get our newsletters

Solebury swears in Cheever, reelects Baum Baicker to lead board


The Solebury Board of Supervisors started off the new year Jan. 2 by welcoming a new member and assigning people to boards and committees for the coming year.

Chair Mark Baum Baicker, who was unanimously reelected as chairman for the seventh consecutive year, welcomed newly elected Christy Cheever to the board for a six-year term. She replaces Robert McEwan, who did not seek reelection.

“I believe Christy is going to be an outstanding supervisor and add a lot of value to this board,” Baum Baicker said.

Cheever, a biochemist, biophysicist and lawyer, served as vice chairman of the Solebury Environmental Advisory Council.

“I’m here to learn,” she said. Joanne Litwin will replace her on the Advisory Council.

Supervisor Hanna Howe was named 2024 vice chair of the board.

The other appointments included:

• Environmental Advisory Council chairman for 2024, Eric Allen, and Barry Fetterolf, associate member;

• Vacancy Board chairman for 2024, Noel Barrett;

• Farm Committee, Buz Teacher;

• Historical Architectural Review Board, Robert McMahon, Scott Minnucci, Patrick Strzelec;

• Human Relations Commission, Donald Bentivoglio;

• Land Preservation Committee, Sally Drayer, Chris Howard, Joseph Tartaglia;

• Parks and Recreation Board, Kevin Campbell, Michael McKenna, Barbara Zietchick;

• Planning Commission, Gretchen Rice;

• Zoning Hearing Board, Christopher Caputo, Michael Firth, David Stacy.

The board also appointed Scott Fleischer, of Piperville, as Solebury’s fire marshal for 2024.

“Scott is the long-time (30-plus year) fire chief at the Point Pleasant Fire Company and we thank him for all the help he’s provided Solebury Township as our fire marshal over the years,” Baum Baicker said.

Supervisor liaisons to various committees for 2024 will be:

• Kevin Morrissey: Comprehensive Plan Committee, Land Preservation Committee, Park and Recreation Committee.

• Hanna Howe: Comprehensive Plan Committee, Farm Committee, New Hope-Solebury School District, Free Library of New Hope and Solebury.

• John Francis: Environmental Advisory Council, Planning Commission.

• Christy Cheever: Historical Architectural Review Board.

• Mark Baum Baicker: Human Relations Commission, Emergency Medical Services, Finance Committee, Lower Delaware Wild & Scenic River Management Council, New Hope-Solebury Committee, Police Pension.

In other business, the supervisors voted to release $514,563 in escrow funds for construction of the Solebury School Dormitory at 6832 Phillips Mill Road.

The board also approved construction of an electric vehicle charger for William Holmes at 3761 Aquetong Road.

The next meeting of the board of supervisors will be at 9:30 a.m. Thursday Jan. 4. Priorities for 2024 will be discussed.

Join our readers whose generous donations are making it possible for you to read our news coverage. Help keep local journalism alive and our community strong. Donate today.