Get our newsletters

Phillips’ Mill Emerging Playwright winners named; readings scheduled


The Phillips’ Mill Community Association has announced the six winners of the 5th annual Emerging Playwright Competition.

The short plays will be performed at a staged reading at the Mill, 2619 River Road, New Hope, at 7 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 19. The public is invited.

The Emerging Playwright Competition, launched five years ago, attracts talented playwrights within a 100-mile radius of New Hope. The EPC encourages new work by novice and seasoned playwrights alike and brings it to the stage.

“The six winning playwrights’ works are excellent,” remarked Fran Young, director of the 2022 staged readings. “All six, touching plays focus on family and personal relationships. I am so happy to be able to cast these plays with 11 talented actors, all of whom are returning to the Mill stage after lending their talents in previous EPC readings and the Mill’s spring musical comedy cabaret. This promises to be an entertaining night of theater.”

And the winners are … “Brambles” by Bruce Walsh of Elizabethtown, Pa.; “One Word” by Bara Swain of New York, N.Y.; “Counterfeit Truths” by Jonathan Heaps, also of New York, N.Y.; “Handshake Deal” by Diane Sansevere-Dreher of New Hope; “You Love Me” by Jim Moss of Branchburg, N.J.; and “The Guestbook” by Patti Veconi of Brooklyn, N.Y.

The actors include Timothy Wade, Matt DiMarino, Kevin Nalty, Laura Brenner-Scotti, Jo Johnson, Madison Branch, J. Edward Diamond, Cecily Laidman, Michael Weisser, Nancy Vander Zwan, Fran Young and Rick Goodwin.

For information, and to reserve your place, visit