Get our newsletters

Society gavel passed


At its 61st annual meeting and dinner on Nov. 14, the New Hope Historical Society elected Frank Policare president.

Policare has served on the society’s board of directors for several years as treasurer, and most recently chaired the membership committee.

Co-founder of Penn Wealth Planning, he has more than 30 years of experience in providing financial guidance and investment advice to individuals, families and business owners.

Policare, a lifelong resident of Bucks County, lives in New Hope with his family where he takes an active role in the community. He is a member of the board of directors of the Bucks County Conference and Visitors Bureau and the New Hope Arts Center, and past president of the New Hope Chamber of Commerce and he has served on the board of the Big Brothers and Big Sisters of Bucks County.

Nearly 100 members of the Historical Society attended the event at Stella’s in New Hope. Also elected to serve as officers of the board were Heidi Echternacht and Kevin Joy, vice presidents, Dan Dougherty, treasurer and Mary Ellen Mason, secretary.

Past President Les Isbrandt was awarded the New Hope Historical Society’s 2019 Distinguished Service Award. He is the founder of the Frances Curley Scholarship Fund, which has provided grants to 17 New Hope-Solebury High School students. As president, Isbrandt spearheaded many new programs for the Historical Society including New Hope History Day and Benjamin Parry Day. He also revived the annual speaker series, the New Hope Historic Marker program and the quarterly newsletter.

Also honored during the meeting were the Herald photography team of Libby and Gordon Nieburg as the Volunteers of the Year for their tireless efforts in covering the numerous Historical Society functions throughout the year. They have provided many photographs for the society’s archives.

Join our readers whose generous donations are making it possible for you to read our news coverage. Help keep local journalism alive and our community strong. Donate today.