Get our newsletters

New Hope-Solebury wins Seatbelt Safety Challenge


New Hope-Solebury High School is the overall winner of the 15th annual Bucks County High School Seatbelt Safety Challenge.

New Hope-Solebury student drivers had the highest overall seatbelt use (97%) over 19 other Bucks County high schools that participated in the challenge while Truman High School achieved the greatest percentage increase in seatbelt use over all schools at five percent (77% in fall to 82% in spring).

New Hope-Solebury, which was also the overall winner in 2010-11, 2015-16 and 2018-19, was presented with a $500 cash grant and perpetual trophy plaque at a pre-prom assembly. The cash prize is donated by TMA Bucks and is encouraged to be used by the school for safety-related purposes.

The school group that promoted the Seatbelt Challenge throughout the entire school year were student government leaders Talia Flavin, Mia Chuma, Abby Prosser, Anna D’Agostino, Ciara Maguire, Gavin Young, Thalia Graeff, and Emma Ives. These students were under the direction of teacher Jon Gonsiewski and passed out “LifeSavers” mints to all drivers with seatbelts on during dismissal at times to promote buckling up.

Teacher Drew Giorgi’s video productions students Leo Cronise-Mead and Sean Cooney also helped promote the challenge by creating a video for the Teen Driver Safety Video PSA Challenge portion of the challenge and screening them for all students.

Truman will receive a cash grant and plaque as well for its accomplishment.