Get our newsletters

McIlhinney to chair Hilltown supervisors


Republican Jack McIlhinney will again serve as chairman of the board of supervisors in Hilltown.

Now in his 14th year on the board, McIlhinney was voted into the chairman’s role by fellow supervisors Ken Bennington, vice chair, and Jim Groff at the board’s recent reorganization meeting.

Supervisors play an important role in local government. They establish a municipality’s local real estate property tax rate, approve the township budget, approve or deny development plans, make open space purchases on the township’s behalf, and more.

McIlhinney, who is now in his third term on the board, also served as chairman in 2018. It was a role he held after winning re-election to the board in November 2017 following a stiff challenge from Democrat G. James Hoffman.

Keeping taxes down and smartly managing development remain goals for McIlhinney and the board in 2019. For the eighth year in a row, Hilltown is holding the line on municipal property taxes in 2019.

On Dec. 10, the board of supervisors approved a 2019 township budget that keeps the local millage rate at 8.75.

Supervisors made a number of other key appointments to township positions at the reorganization meeting.

Lorraine Leslie continues as township manager-secretary. Christopher Engelhart remains police chief. David Taylor will serve as zoning officer and code enforcement officer, while Thomas Hess will be director of public works. Marianne Egan is finance director.

Harris & Harris, represented by Stephen Harris, will once more serve as solicitor for Hilltown. C. Robert Wynn Associates is township engineer.

Ray Fegley was appointed 2019 emergency management coordinator.

Join our readers whose generous donations are making it possible for you to read our news coverage. Help keep local journalism alive and our community strong. Donate today.