Get our newsletters

Fox Chase Art Show & Sale to benefit lymphoma cancer research


The Bucks County Chapter of the Board of Associates of Fox Chase Cancer Center will host its 23rd annual art show and sale, in memory of George Bramhall, with proceeds benefiting lymphoma cancer research at Fox Chase Cancer Center.

In the past, this popular event was held in the Event Center by Cornerstone in New Hope. Due to COVID-19, this year’s art show will be a virtual event running from Oct. 1 through Oct. 25. Learn more at:

Patrons can browse and purchase the works of over 17 talented artists from the comfort of their homes. Each artist is contributing 35% of his or her art sales at the event to lymphoma cancer research. Additionally, raffle tickets may be purchased for a chance to win one of more than 17 works of art donated by the participating artists.

Patrons can apply their raffle tickets to specific work(s) of art, providing a high chance of winning their favorite. Raffle tickets are $15 each or three for $35. In addition, there is a special $100 golden raffle ticket for a chance to win the George Bramhall 2004 painting “Old Buck’s Dam.”

Art show patrons can also make a special pledge to support lymphoma cancer research at Fox Chase. Although the effectiveness of treatments for lymphoma has been markedly improved over the years, increasing five-year survival from ~40% to nearly 80%; for those patients that fail first-line treatment, few options exist.

Dr. Yibin Yang’s lab at Fox Chase seeks to provide hope for those patients who are not cured by existing treatments. In determining why those patients fail to benefit from existing treatments, Dr. Yang employs a state-of-the art method to destroy the genes that are activated in these patients in order to determine which genes are required to keep the lymphoma cells alive.

Those genes found to be required for lymphoma cell survival serve as important targets against which new therapies can be developed. Yang’s lab has identified one such target and has also developed an inhibitor that is now ready to be tested in mouse models, with the ultimate aim of generating inhibitors that can be used in patients.

“Importantly, these inhibitors may also help immunotherapy work more effectively, resulting in hope for thousands of lymphoma patients for whom current therapies are not effective,” stated Dr. Yang.

The premiere artists exhibiting at the event include: Bette Conway - fine jewelry, Beth Palser - fine art, Bob Richey - fine art, Denise Marshall - photographer, Elissa Goldberg - fine art, Giovanni Arcamone - fine art, Helena Van Emmerik Finn - fine art, Jesse Hashagen - fine art, Judith Langan - fine art, Margie Perry - fine art, Mary Schwarzenberger - fiber art, Monique G. Perry - fine jewelry, Nancy Butler - fine jewelry, Roopa Speedy - fine art, Sandy Askey-Adams - fine art, Sandy Vallely - fine art, and Steve Zazenski - fine art.

The Bucks County Chapter thanks the Event Chairs: Rhea Brown and Lillian O’Connor, Media Sponsor: Bucks County Herald, and the generous special pledge donors including: Mr. and Mrs. James J. Anderson, S and D Marshall, Lauren and Don Morel, Lou and Carol Della Penna, Michael and Jean Fowler, Millham Insurance, Lillian O’Connor, Lee and Ginny Beyer, Jim and Rhea Brown, Rick and Flo Celender, Jim Flynn and Sue Johnson, John and Dorothy Meggitt, Addie Riggione, Winnie and Norm Troxel, Betty Ann and Reginald Bishop, Sharon Grey, Elizabeth and Brian Rizor, Linda Sterthous and Anna Kruschwitz, Addison Wolfe, Barbara and Bruce Franzel, Kim Gronendahl, Janice Kimenhour, Denise Milde, RE/MAX Newtown, Megan Officer,, Wendy and David Rees, Heller’s Seafood, Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Schindler, Lynn Betz,

Allen and Mary Bittinger, Jim and Mary Borthwick, Linda and John Brown, Kathryn Burchinel, Kathleen Campbell, C.B. Chandor, Tyma Trachtenberg Dental, Lynn Haskin, Kermit Kemp, Carolyn Kozakowski, Daniel J. McCloskey, Gregory Nieto, Barbara O’Donnell, Joe O’Donnell, Ryan O’Donnell, Jane Thomas, John and Margaret Abbot, Lucy Dailey, Gavaghan Family Insurance, Judith Gundlach, Casey Heim, Kevin and Charlotte Keenan, Sara and Scott Moyer, Eileen O’Rourke, Diane Sterthous, and Walter J. Young.

Visit where you will also find additional information about participation opportunities to support research at Fox Chase Cancer Center.