Get our newsletters

Flemington Speedway Historical Society hosts awards, nostalgic films


The Flemington Speedway Historical Society will honor its “Most Influential Persons” with the 2020 TAS Award presentation for recipients Ollie Butler, Les Farley, Les Katona, and John Norcia Saturday, Feb. 29, at the Flemington Elks Lodge #1928.

An evening of nostalgic Flemington Speedway racing movies will be shown in addition to the awards presentation.

Admission for the TAS Awards and nostalgic racing movies night is $10 per person, payable at the door. Credit cards are not accepted. The event is free for Flemington Speedway Historical Society (FSHS) members. There is no advance purchase of tickets. Collared shirts are suggested for men.

New and renewal memberships will be available at the door. FSHS’s car show title sponsor, the Flemington Department Store, is offering a $10 gift card to the store for any new or renewal membership taken in at this event.

Doors open at 5:30 p.m.; hors d’oeuvres will be served at 6 p.m., along with the start of the Flemington Speedway race movies. The awards presentation is scheduled to start at 7 p.m., followed by extended nostalgic Flemington Speedway racing movies to end the entertainment at 10 p.m.

This year’s honorees will join Flemington Speedway’s Most Influential Persons inaugural recipient Al Tasnady (“Tas”), for whom the award was renamed to honor. Race cars and memorabilia will be on display, and door prizes and more are planned.

Admission is limited by fire code to 393 people. Find the event on Facebook for information.