Get our newsletters

Familiar faces are back at New Hope Borough Council


New Hope voters reelected their mayor and the four borough council members on the ballot last November. On the first Monday of January 2022, they were sworn in to their new four-year terms.
Council members Tina Rettig, Peter Meyer, Dan Dougherty and Connie Gering will continue in their roles through January 2026. Their three colleagues on council — Louise Feder, Ken Maisel and Laurie McHugh — serve staggered terms and were not on the 2021 ballot. Borough Mayor Laurence D. Keller will continue his tenure in office for another four years.
As part of its annual reorganization, the seven-member Council elected Gering to continue as borough council president, with Dougherty and Rettig returning as vice president and president pro tem, respectively.

The borough council sets policy, enacts legislation, adopts budgets, controls expenditures, appoints advisory commissions and boards, and hires employees. Council members are elected to four-year terms, with either three or four members up for election every two years.
The mayor works with the police chief to set police policy and work rules and is responsible for emergency proclamations, attends council meetings and represents the borough in local functions and events.