Get our newsletters

Two Council Rock School Board members honored


The Pennsylvania School Boards Association recognized Council Rock School Board members Ed Tate and Dr. Michael Thorwart at a recent board meeting.

Both have served eight years. Tate is running for another four-year term in Region 2 (most of Newtown Township) while Thorwart decided not to run for reelection in Region 7 (a part of Northampton Township).

Both Tate and Thorwart were presented with certificates adding them to the PSBA Honor Roll, which honors long-serving school board members in Pennsylvania with service of eight years or more.

“I would like to add my congratulations and thanks to Mr. Tate and Dr. Thorwart for their service to Council Rock,” district Superintendent Andrew Sanko said. “Along with all of our board members past and present, you have contributed greatly to making Council Rock the exemplary school district it is.”

In a message to the honorees, PSBA officials thanked Tate and Thorwart for their years of dedicated volunteer service to students, the community and public education.

Join our readers whose generous donations are making it possible for you to read our news coverage. Help keep local journalism alive and our community strong. Donate today.