Get our newsletters

Doylestown Township reorganizes with Lyons at the helm


Monday may have been day seven of 2019, but it was the start to the new year for local municipalities, including Doylestown Township.

As the law dictates, municipal boards meet on the first Monday of the new year to swear in newly elected officials, along with selecting their leadership for the new year.

Barbara Lyons was re-elected chair of the board, and Rick Colello vice chair.

Lyons thanked the board for another year to serve as chair.

“Serving as chairman, “I’m very honored as always to represent Doylestown Township and this board.”

Board members also were assigned liaison roles to the township’s various volunteer committees.

Rick Colello - Municipal Authority, Planning Commission,

Lyons - Dog Park, Personnel and Administration, director of Public Safety and Building Committee.

Ryan Manion - Bike and Hike Committee, Friends of Kids’ Castle and Public Water and Sewer Advisory Board.

Jennifer Herring - Agricultural Security Advisory Board, Environmental Advisory Council, Parks and Recreation, Telecommunications Advisory Board, and Park Recreation and Open Space Comprehensive Plan Committee.

Ken Snyder - Pension Advisory Committee, Traffic Advisory, Roads and Bridges, Ways and Means, and Building Committee.

Board members also approved 19 township appointments starting with Township Manager Stephanie Mason and ending with traffic engineer Matt Johnston. They also approved 17 volunteer appointments to township boards and commissions starting with the arborist and ending with the Zoning Hearing Board.

The board’s next meeting is 7 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 15.

Manager Stephanie Mason, Police Chief Dean Logan, Police Lieutenant Matt O’Connor, Code Enforcement Director Sinclair Salisbury, Executive Director municipal authority Keith Hass; Director of Operations Dave Tomko, Director of Parks and Recreation Karen A. Sweeney, Finance Officer Kenneth Wallace, Fire Marshal Fredrick Schea.

Also, Road Superintendent Paul Garr, Water Superintendent Scott Miele, Tax Hearing Officer Stephanie J. Mason, Solicitor Jeffrey P. Garton , Engineer Geoffrey J. Attanasio, Planning Consultant Judy Stern Goldstein, Bike Hike Engineer Chris Stanford, Traffic Engineer Matthew Johnston.

Appointments to boards and commissions: Arborist Robert McMullin, Agriculture Security Area Advisory Council Jeffrey Fehr, Marge Kohl, Jordon Yeager, Bike and Hike Committee Thomas Kelso, Dog Park Advisory Committee Kathy Brown, Andrew Miller, Municipal Authority Richard Bach, EAC/Shade Tree Commission Jeannine Mitchell, Anne Woodbury.

Also Friends of Kids Castle Jon Biederman, HARB Harry Mondoil, Parks and Recreation Robert Salanik, Pension Advisory Committee non-voting members Sinclair Salisbury, Tim Reihl, Greg Schuster, Stephanie Mason, Ken Wallace, Planning Commission Judy Hendrixson, Public Water and Sewer Advisory Board, W. Rodney Stone, Gary Munkelt, Telecommunications Advisory Board, David Laustsen, Traffic Advisory Committee Carol Shugars, Vacancy Board Wallace Pattyson, Ways and Means Brenda Bray, Robert Salanik, Zoning Hearing Board Samuel Costanzo.

Join our readers whose generous donations are making it possible for you to read our news coverage. Help keep local journalism alive and our community strong. Donate today.