Get our newsletters

Bensalem recognizes school board members


January is School Director Recognition Month in Pennsylvania and Bensalem Township School Distirct recognizes its nine elected school board members who volunteer their time to serve Bensalem students, teachers and staff.

School board members devote 20-plus hours per month to the challenging and complex responsibilities of board business, including voting on budgets, adopting policy, and conducting comprehensive planning. Bensalem’s school directors oversee a $173 million-dollar budget providing a quality education for the more than 6,400 students in nine schools staffed by 501 teachers, 64 administrative employees, and 522 full and part-time support personnel.

The locally elected volunteer public servants who contribute to keeping the public school system strong and effective in Bensalem Township are: Heather D. Nicholas, president; Joseph A. Pettyjohn, vice president; Marc Cohen, Stephanie A. Gonzalez Ferrandez, Deborah King, Rebecca Mirra, Jiten Patel, Kim J. Rivera and Karen A. Winters.

Join our readers whose generous donations are making it possible for you to read our news coverage. Help keep local journalism alive and our community strong. Donate today.