Get our newsletters

Art of Oscar fundraiser features art inspired by Hammerstein

The Arts & Cultural Council of Bucks County and The Oscar Hammerstein Museum and Theatre Education Center (Highland Farm) have named the participating artists for The Art of Oscar, a unique celebration and competition serving as a fundraiser for the participating, nonprofit organizations and the event artists.

Nearly 50 visual artists of all mediums will be on exhibition at Hammerstein’s original home, Highland Farm, 70 East Road, Doylestown, May 16 through 18, and it will be open to the general public from noon to 4 p.m. May 18.

Artists have been assigned to create original works inspired by Hammerstein’s life, music, humanitarian service, and his home. Artwork on exhibition for the Art of Oscar range in price from $40 to over $4,000, and buyers will have the opportunity take home a one-of-a-kind, Bucks County cultural history art piece.

Highland Farm, currently operating as a bed & breakfast in Doylestown, is the place where Hammerstein lived and wrote most of the country’s most beloved musicals, such as “Oklahoma,” “South Pacific,” “The King and I” and ‘The Sound of Music.”

Since township approvals in 2016, a dedicated community group has been working to save Hammerstein’s homestead from a proposed four-lot subdivision.

Instead they want to re-purpose the site as a dynamic Broadway history browsing museum and education center, honoring Hammerstein’s international, cultural contributions and humanitarian work.

For more about Hammerstein’s museum in the making, visit To register for the free Art of Oscar event on May 18, visit EventBrite.

The Art of Oscar is a planned and organized event of the Arts & Cultural Council of Bucks County and will assist in the group’s fundraising.

Participating exhibition artists include: Maggie Leiby, Perkasie; Florence Paul, Fountainville; Chee Bravo, Trenton, N.J.; Jan Fan, Doylestown; Tim Stanford, Langhorne; Catherine Ulasewicz, Doylestown; Deb Hoeffner, Doylestown; Donna McCafferty, Pipersville; Cathy Begg, Lambertville, N.J.; J.C. Turner, Pipersville; Sandra Eliot, Doylestown; Marianthe Kappakas, Brooklyn, N.Y.; Bryan Oliver, Doylestown; Nancy Heilemann, Philadelphia; Shawn Allen-Della Rosa, Holland; Leonora Obed, Trenton; Ilene Young, Newtown; Judith Nentwig, Lower Gwynedd; Tuwanna Rudolph, Trevose; Therese Page, Telford; David Page, Telford; Susan Seykot, Jamison; Jane Ramsey, Perkasie; Sean Murphy, Langhorne; Nancy Miller, Doylestown; Gloria Denoon, Wycombe; Margaret Vail, Monroe Township, N.J.; Dot Bunn, Doylestown; Elisa Markhoff, Doylestown; Helena van Emmerik-Finn, Doylestown; Jay Eisenberg, New Hope; Reed Mitchell, Perkasie; Virginia Rosa, Mechanicsville; Cindy Roesinger, Doylestown; Patrick Walsh, New Hope; Ashley Doyle, Chalfont; Helene Moriarty, Jamison; and Margaret Anderson, Perkasie.