Patriots slay Titans

CB East boys’ basketball won an important game over CB South, 59-50, on Friday. The Patriots trailed 25-24 at the half. CB East shot 16 of 24 from the field in the final quarter. Kyle Cassidy was eight of 11 from the line in the fourth; he finished with 14 points. Matt Pattyson went for 20 points, four assists and three steals. Elijah Seger had 10 points, while Cooper Fink added 10 rebounds. Nate Johnston’s 18 points were tops for the Titans. Dan Tecce contributed 10. The Patriots are 12-9 overall and 6-5 in the SOL Continental. CB East will head to North Penn on Tuesday.

Pattyson powers Patriots

Matt Pattyson went for 16 points, eight rebounds and four assists as CB East boys’ basketball downed New Foundations, 52-46, on Saturday. The Patriots led 22-12 at halftime. The Patriots shot 10 of 12 from the line in the fourth quarter; Collin Stein went six for six from the stripe in the quarter. Elijah Seger had nine points and seven boards. Stein finished with 10 points. CB East (11-7 overall) will host CB West on Tuesday at 7 p.m.

Rams dial up win

CB East boys’ basketball forced overtime with a 22-18 second half, but Pennridge won overtime – and the game – 58-53 on Friday night. The Rams sank five of six free throws in overtime and 13 of 14 for the game. Ryan Kinky finished with a game-high 20 points for Pennridge. Tyrese Lewis-Eutsey notched a dozen and Jon Post had 10 for the victors. Matt Pattyson (18 points) and Elijah Seger (10) were among the standouts for the Patriots. Pennridge is 8-8 overall and 3-5 in the SOL Continental; CB East is 10-7 and 5-3.

Patriots stop Souderton

CB East boys’ basketball used a 21-11 second half to top Souderton, 41-34, on Tuesday. Matt Pattyson rang up 14 points for the Patriots. Cooper Fink scored eight, while Ryan Plack and Collin Stein each registered six points. CB East is 10-6 overall and 5-2 in the SOL Continental and will host Pennridge on Friday.

Patriots squeeze by Indians

CR North nearly came all the way back, outscoring CB East boys’ basketball 22-12 in the fourth quarter in Saturday’s SOL Challenge tilt, but it wasn’t enough in a 36-34 Patriots victory. CB East led 12-7 at halftime. Matt Pattyson went for eight points for the Patriots. Cooper Fink had five points and eight boards, while Ryan Plack notched six points and seven rebounds. CB East is 9-6 overall with a date at Souderton on Tuesday.

Plack propels Patriots

Ryan Plack scored on a buzzer-beater as CB East boys’ basketball handed North Penn its first loss in the SOL Continental on Friday night. The Patriots prevailed, 40-38, thanks to a 23-15 second half. Matt Pattyson assisted on Plack’s game-winner. CB East won despite shooting only four of 12 from the line. Pattyson finished with 10 points to lead the Patriots. Elijah Seger had nine points. CB East moved to 8-6 overall and 4-2 in the SOL Continental.

Patriots eke by Titans

CB East boys’ basketball survived an overtime battle with CB South, 58-55, on Tuesday. The Titans used a 29-18 second half to send the game into OT, where the Patriots proceeded to knock down all eight of their free throws. Matt Pattyson was six for six from the line in the extra period. Pattyson finished with a game-high 24 points. Cooper Fink added 11 points and Collin Stein had 10. Elijah Seger contributed eight points and seven rebounds. Alex Karras led the Titans with 19 points, including five 3-pointers. Nate Johnston scored nine. CB East moved to 7-6 overall on the season and will face North Penn on Friday.

Patriots bury Tennent

CB East boys’ basketball stuffed visiting William Tennent, 51-32, on Tuesday. The Panthers led 12-11 after one quarter, but the Patriots responded with a 17-6 second quarter and a 15-6 third to seize control. CB East shot 20 of 35 from the field and eight of 10 from the line. Collin Stein was the high man for CB East, scoring 16 and adding six rebounds. Ryan Plack netted 10 points, while Matt Pattyson and Elijah Seger each chipped in eight. Pattyson added six boards. The Patriots, who are 6-4 overall and 2-2 in the SOL Continental, will head to Wissahickon for a nonconference tilt on Thursday.

Patriots up mark to 5-4

CB East boys’ basketball moved a game above .500 (5-4) with Thursday’s rather easy, 46-23 victory over host CR North in the Athletes Helping Athletes tournament. The Patriots outscored the Indians 26-8 in the second and third quarters. Elijah Seger finished with a double-double: 10 points and 10 boards. Collin Stein scored a game-high 15, including three 3-pointers. Matt Pattyson had a solid all-around game with nine points, 10 rebounds and seven assists.

< Return to School Sports